Painting with Wool

I was chosen to be a tester for a new wool painting course hosted by Dani Ives of Be Good Natured. She does beautifully realistic pet portraits with wool and her ability to teach what she knows is just as impressive.

I mostly signed up to be a tester because my daughter wanted to try it and I’m so glad she did. I had no desire to learn, but now that I’ve tried it, I love it. When I want a little breather from knitting puppets I’ve found myself turning to creating with wool and honing the techniques I’ve learned.

Here are a few shots from just one of the projects that Dani walks her students through from beginning to end that I made. She makes it so simple and the fact that it’s all done online is lovely. I found myself looking forward to starting a lesson and would get everything around the house in order so that I could sit down with a warm drink and all my supplies and start learning.

Both my girls ended up making their own pieces too. They did great at picking up the techniques quickly and were definitely safer than I was with the needles. I can see us incorporating wool painting into projects for school in the future and to simply capture the things we love about being out in nature with wool.

If you’re interested in learning more about her online wool painting course you can find info here. This is in no way sponsored.

Leave a Reply

