Smashed Meatball Sandwiches

2016 044

A delicious, you’re gonna wanna make it, smashed meatball sandwich. I’ve gotta share this with you and I’m sorry for not sharing it sooner.

Ingredients:

Simple Amish White Bread Shape it like a french loaf and bake on a cookie sheet.

Butter

Garlic Powder

Easy Pizza Sauce (made ahead of time)

Ground Pork/Beef

Cavender’s All Purpose Greek Seasoning

Salt & Pepper

Bell Peppers

Onions

Melty Cheese (Provolone/Monterey Jack/Mozzarella)

Split loaf in half and spread with butter, sprinkle on garlic powder and salt to taste. Make your favorite meatball recipe, flatten out to desired shape and cook. (I use salt, pepper, and cavender’s to season, then I soak a piece of white bread in a little milk and add that with a beaten egg to my seasoned meat before cooking). Saute Onions and Peppers and prepare cheese. Next layer everything to your liking. Bread, meat, sauce, cheese, peppers/onions and warm in oven until cheese is bubbly. I like to brown the top half of the bread at the same time. Serve with extra pizza sauce and a fork. It can get messy, but it’s so worth it.

Adjust the ingredients to your liking and to what you have time to make. I would have no problem subbing out the bread for store bought if I were pressed for time, but I have no desire to ever buy another jar of spaghetti or pizza sauce. The homemade tastes so much better and is easy. My daughter often makes it for us because it’s fun.

Leave a Reply

