Grandma’s Dressing

This recipe was passed down from my Grandma to my Mom.

Disclaimer: I haven’t made this myself. I will someday. In the meantime I have helped and I can tell you that I remember cutting the onions and celery extremely thin.

{Update: I made the dressing last weekend and it was wonderful and easy! I did use 1 less onion and added a little more celery because I forgot to measure it, oops. It worked though. I used my food processor for the veggies and just pulsed it until I liked the texture. It was perfectly moist and delicious. I might use less onion next time, though.}

dressing 002

Dressing

1 loaf Stale Bread, broken into pieces

1.5 sticks Butter

5 medium Onions

1.5 cups Celery

6 Eggs, lightly beaten

1 cup Chicken Broth (plus more for basting)

Poultry Seasoning, to taste

Dice and saute the onions and celery in the butter. Mix all (be sure to let the onions and celery cool first or mix with the chicken broth before working in the eggs, you knew that right?), put in 9×13. Bake at 350  for 1.5 hours uncovered. During the last 1/2 hour baste with chicken broth.

Leave a Reply

